Choose Wonder, Choose Gratitude

I love TED. There is such a wealth of knowledge, imagination and inspiration within TED’s virtual walls.

Louie Schwartzberg is an award-winning cinematographer who has been “filming time-lapse flowers 24-hours a day, seven days a week, for over 35 years.”

That, all by itself, is awe-inspiring to me. But wait! There’s more!

He says, “To watch them [flowers] move is a dance I’m never going to get tired of. It fills me with wonder and it opens my heart.”

Could one ask any more from life than that? To be filled with wonder and live with an open heart is something I would aspire to. I would aspire to it if I could remember it as an aspiration. To be in that place on a daily basis is not something that comes naturally to me, and the last 2 weeks have been particularly lacking in that regard.

Sometimes my health issues make it seemingly impossible to pay attention to anything more than what I’m dealing with on a physical level. I say “seemingly” because although I do get lost in the fog of illness, I also know that the choices I make within that fog can be life-giving or life-denying. Too frequently they are the latter. As I continue to grow in awareness about these choices, I know that choosing to pay attention to gratitude and wonder are keys to living fully.

Today I give you two videos from TED that affirm both gratitude and wonder. I hope you enjoy them as much as I have. I will be taking them as medicine in times to come. (Oh, and go “full screen” on these. Definitely.)

Thank you to Oriah for pointing the way to these.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Choose Wonder, Choose Gratitude

  1. mythgal says:

    Deb – so agree with you – I am not a person who naturally looks at situations or my day with wonder gratitude and the open heart. I too have been trying to learn ways to create this discipline in myself.

  2. Leslie Nikulka/Ouderkirk says:

    You are definitely not alone in this, Deb. “Definitely NOT alone!” There are times when the effort it takes to think positive and manifest abundance is far more than the energy available.
    Thank you for the precious gift of Louie’s videos.

Leave a Reply

