Body Bendiness

This question was posed as the first of seven by seven teachers. You can find it on Facebook , and add your thoughts there or here. The first question comes from a favourite teacher of mine, Patti Digh.  It is followed by my response.
DECEMBER 26 QUESTION #1
From Patti Digh
Topic: Body (Bendiness)

Question: Where have I learned and lived in 2011? In my head, in my body, or both? What would living more fully in my body in 2012 bring to me? How can I embody life and learning as I move through this liminal space between now and next? How can I more fully learn from the neck down in 2012?

In our hyper-intellectualized disembodied world, we sometimes allow technology to take the place of our bodies, don’t we? We sit, with only our arms moving as we type. We’ve even begun to distrust what our bodies say to us. Instead, we learn from the neck up, when learning from the neck down and fully embodying life will provide us with such greater riches. What do you allow yourself to really feel in your body, without the need to clarify, intellectualize, provide proof, capture with data, or block? What can you allow yourself to really feel in your body in 2012?

From Deb:

It is embarrassingly simple: be, rest, move. Something of a contradiction? So much is about finding balancing the polarities, the all or nothing. It is getting harder and harder to do any of these (be, rest, move) with consciousness. I’m a master ignorer. But it is also getting more and more imperative.The challenge of picking things up off the floor, putting on socks, playing with my niece, the pain involved in walking – these are all cries to pay attention and then to take action – sometimes that action means lying on the floor and being still; sometimes gentle stretches and breathing, sometimes more movement. Hmmmm. I think actually, that my word for the year is “body”. Yes indeed. I believe it is. And this is good.

I’d love to hear from you.

Image from here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

