Type Rider with Maya Stein

I love Maya Stein. I love her words, her photography, her ideas, her passion for life, her courage, and her willingness to live on her edge, to live raw.

I got hooked on Maya’s poetry through reading Patti Digh’s book, Creative Is A Verb , which included several of Maya’s poems. Here is one of them:

I am no magic trick, no doer of miracles, no water walker.
I am no architect of glory, no layer-on of hands, no angel wing.
I am no weaver of gold, no mythmaker, no parachute artist.
I am no halo of stillness in a downpour.
I am no treasure chest, no hero, no thunderbolt wielder.
I am no rabbit foot or lottery number.
I am no combination lock, no mystery ingredient, no optical illusion.

But here is a handful of sunflowers from the florist’s sidewalk jungle.
Here is a blanket to spread on the grass for an afternoon.
Here is a song on the radio that calls for dancing.
Here is a chocolate bar I will share with you.
Here is a road sign, a notebook, photographs of those I have loved.
Here is a slice of bright blue sky, a hummingbird
thrashing her wings around an apricot tree.

To see this clearly
is enough.

On Patti’s blog, she mentioned Maya’sdream project of driving across the U.S. and holding writing/poetry workshops along the way. It would be funded by donations through Kickstarter,  “the world’s largest funding platform for creative projects”. This was the first time I’d heard of Kickstarter and I loved the concept. I decided to back Maya’s project based on my appreciation for her poetry.

I looked at her route which included stops in Toronto and Montreal. And then I had an idea! Maybe she could come here… to little Peterborough, Ontario? It’s kinda on the way from Toronto to Montreal. Kinda. More or less. Give or take a couple of hours.

So, I asked Maya. And she said yes! She came and gave not one, but two workshops! She stayed overnight at my house and we had dinner together, and breakfast the next day. And then I waved her on her way, having formed a delightful and unexpected connection.

And now Maya is at it again. This time it is Type Rider. Maya is riding her bike for 40 straight days, on a route from Amherst, Massachusetts to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, toting an aqua Remington Ten Forty typewriter to more than 40 destinations. Why Milwaukee? It’s the birthplace of the typewriter of course!

I invite you to join me in backing Maya’s Type Rider project. The route doesn’t include anywhere near me, but that doesn’t matter. It didn’t actually matter last time either! You can become a backer for as little as $1. She is 10 days away from her deadline with about $6 000 yet to raise to ensure the project goes ahead. You can read more about it here, and here’s a video to give you a little taste…..  let’s get Maya back on the road!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Type Rider with Maya Stein

  1. Maya says:

    Deb, I am totally floored – in the best way – by your post here. Thank you so much for your support, encouragement, company, and spirit. You have been a fabulous companion on my journeys, and I’m delighted that you’ll be with me on this one.

Leave a Reply

