I Thank This Day

Today I’m collecting change. Not for a charity, but from a couple of jars and pockets around the house in order to get to the end of the month. Being short of money makes me itchy, uncomfortable. It sings me the song of “lack”, of limits, of not having enough. It gives fire to the fear dragon.

And with a week to go, that’s not gonna cut it. It is one thing to not have moula. It’s a whole different thing to feel like shit about it.

So, I ask: where in my life do I have abundance? Where am I rich? Where is there plenty?

And the answers come. With ease and grace.

I have bounty. My garden holds riches of beauty and tomatoes and cucumbers that go from my elbow to my fingertips. I’ve roasted pans of organic heirloom tomatoes and frozen them in dollops to use in winter soups and on pizza for infusions of flavour. The cucumbers can only be juiced in order to keep up with them. The sunflowers, morning glories and scarlet runner beans display their grandeur for all who pass by. The hops vines cover the porch to create a shady oasis. Yes, I have bounty.

I have joy. It comes in a 3-yr old body who snuggles when we watch movies, a body who learned that it was okay to eat blueberries while picking at the u-pick, a body who screeches with delight when we go to the splash pad, who knows how to be “vewy-vewy quiet’ when sneaking up on the bunny who sometimes appears in the back yard. Yes, I have joy.

I have community. I’m part of over 1000 people who are journeying together with Patti Digh on 137Days, a “ journey into mindful living from August 16 – December 31, 2012. A pilgrimage into meaning. A community live-a-palooza to love well, live fully, let go deeply, and make a difference.” This journey started suddenly when Patti’s beloved husband, John (but known to the world as “Mr. Brilliant”.) was unexpectedly diagnosed with kidney cancer They are uninsured. I know I told you about this before. It will not be the last time.  Patti’s people rallied: they joined 137Days in far greater numbers than she could ever have imagined. They raised over $82 000 in 17 days. They’ve had an indigogo campaign, lemonade stands, bake sales, sold t-shirts, held yard sales, sold rocks. Yes. Rocks. All to raise money for this beloved family who is without insurance. I say “they”. I should say “we”. I have community. Yes, I do.

So, though I will go to the coin fairy machine tomorrow to redeem my yogurt container of pennies, nickles, dimes and quarters, I go with a new appreciation of what I do have. I have bounty. I have joy. I have community. And I’ll get a few potatoes and pears to go along with that. 😉

These are my buttons. There are 137 of them. I move one each night from one container to the other, saying these words: “This is my day.
It was perfect in its imperfection.
I thank this day for being.
And I let go of it, fully.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Thank This Day

  1. That’s a beautiful reminder of abundance, thank you.

  2. Melissa says:

    Really beautiful writing and discovery of what you have. And a wonderful way of explaining Project 137, which I’ve been trying to figure out how to do. Not sure why it is difficult – maybe because it feels so rich and meaningful.

    • Deb Reynolds says:

      It is rich, isn’t it Melissa. It is actually the first thing that popped into mind when I was working to shift my thinking from lack to abundance. All of those people, 137 days spread out in front of me with a gift in each one, sharing. Now that is rich indeed.

  3. Janice says:

    Beautiful! that is what you are. What a great out look on life you have. It will serve as a reminder to me!
    thanks

  4. Kathryn says:

    This is so beautiful, so honest, The financial thing I understand. I do find it limiting as well ~ in fact, it is. I struggle with it constantly. Thanks for your honesty and I’m glad to be apart of this community.

  5. Margaret says:

    Hey, Deb! Thank you so much for reminding me of the important things–tomato season, warm snuggly little kids, and caring friends. I would love to see your runner beans and have you come visit my zinnias. It boggles my mind, where you would find more than a thousand buttons, but I hope you discover LOTS of yogurt containers full of change in every corner of your life.

  6. Jalene Case says:

    I love your rich, creative, detailed and intimate sharing about lack and abundance. Your attitude is infectious. Thank you.

  7. Wow, Deb, I love this post! Thank you for your gorgeous honesty. So, two things:
    1. Please give me precise step-by-step directions on roasting and freezing tomatoes just as you do. I would love to roast a panful or two.
    2. Please write an article for my blog (magnoliaswest.com/morninggratitudes) about your practice of gratitude. Seriously, love, you could lift this article and send it over if you don’t want to write a new one. It oozes the practice of gratitude in every word. Please submit something; I’m posting a guest article once a week until the end of the year. Thanks!
    Love and light,
    Sue

    • Deb Reynolds says:

      Cool! On both counts! I will submit this. Thanks for asking. And as for the tomatoes – slice, chop, whatever you like. Toss in a bowl with some EVOO and sea salt, maybe a pinch or two of dried basil and a few sliced cloves of garlic. Spread on a jellyroll pan or sided cookie sheet and bake at 400 until most of the juices have evaporated. Might take an hour, depending on the juice level of the tomatoes. Maybe more. When cooled, fill up an ice cube tray with the tomato delight and freeze. Then it is easy to defrost in small amounts to toss into a soup, or spread on a pizza or mixed with some roasted veg. Intense flavour, baby!!

  8. Carol Sanders says:

    Just loverly, Deb. Like you. And you are right…it is so easy to think about lack and forget about the beautiful abundance in all around us. Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

