Courage of the Heart

Is there anything better than seeing someone you love totally in their element?

You know, that space where time and ego are suspended, where the light of truth shines through, where you get a new glimpse of someone’s heart.

I was privileged to see that when my friend Janice launched her book, Eve/Lilith.

It was an intimate gathering of friends and family on a sunny Sunday afternoon. We gathered to hear Janice tell the twin stories of Eve and Lilith, and celebrate the publication of her book. Although I’ve known Janice since 2004, I had never seen her in her role as storyteller.  And I was awestruck.

All of the things I already knew about Janice were there, but on this day they were in full view: confidence, beauty, articulation, clarity, strength, engagement, courage.

I was particularly moved by her courage. It is one thing to get up in front of a group of people you don’t know and can walk away from at the end of your time, without having to see them ever again. It is another thing entirely to be vulnerable, to expose your heart in front of your family, your friends and put yourself on the line with the people who love you most, and can therefore hurt you most.

Maybe Janice doesn’t have that issue. Maybe that’s all mine. But I still call it a courageous act. And courage, from the Latin, “cor”, means heart.

To show yourself for who you are is an act of courage. To show your heart is an act of courage.

I saw Janice’s heart. And it was beautiful.

The author, signing her books.

The table is set.

Appropriate, no?

Eve/Lilith

Janice in action.... note the smiles.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Courage of the Heart

  1. Janice says:

    Hey Deb
    What a cool surprise to see myself up on your blog this morning. Thanks you for all the kind words about my storytelling it is always nice to hear. Yes you couldn’t be more right about it being more difficult to tell to you friends and family…oh my gawd they might find out you’re a fool, an idiot, a who do you think you are? But Deb just like the clowning you so bravely step out and do all on your own, you do it and you find out it’s not so bad in fact it is exhilarating if it’s what you are suppose to be doing and you are telling your truth.
    Hope you are having a good day today. You could be asleep as I write this though since I see you posted this at 3:21am.!

  2. beejee23 says:

    You are a wonderful friend! As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  3. Deb Reynolds says:

    So true…… when you’re doing what you love and you love what you’re doing, your truth shines through…… for you, and for me, and for us all. x0x0
    btw, blog postings can be scheduled to go out automatically!! Thus, I was not up at 3:21am!! 🙂

  4. Janice says:

    Good to hear you weren’t up at that crazy time of the morning and now you know how un-blog savvy I am!

  5. Vanessa says:

    As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  6. Darienne says:

    Lovely, Deb.

Leave a comment